Sahara Grill

American


Both Haych and I love our food and we love trying different foods. Ok, Haych not so much – but she’s still up for having a go (how else will she know if she’ll like it?). So on our Twosday Tuesday, Haych decided on Sahara Grill from our long list of restaurants to try. That evening, we hit Whitechapel to find the place, mind you it was raining but the thought of food kept us going. We got there for about 5pm (no booking required – there was just 2 of us) and a lovely guy at the front took us to a cosy seat at the end. After about 10mins, Haych had fixed her mind on a chicken steak whilst I was still flipping through the menu deciding on a burger or steak. I usually get a burger so I thought steak would do for today! Or maybe it was the fact Haych said I’ll make a mess eating a burger.. Here’s what we ordered:

Two drinks named Sahara Mint Crush a blend of fresh mint lemon and apple crushed in ice – £7.90. We both love our mint drinks! We then skipped starters and went straight for the main…

Haych

  • The Sahara Chicken Steak marinated in Sahara Grill spices and flame-grilled to order. Served with coleslaw (asked for the Mediterranean salad) and chips – £12.95

Yum! Yum! Yum! I loved my main.. it did state hot but I would have preferred it spicier. The chicken steak was the perfect size and oh so juicy and moist. I’m glad I swapped the coleslaw for the salad as it added a crunch to both the soft chicken and chips – loved the little sweet and salty olives cutting through the spices. They were very generous with the chips which is great on my famished day but I need space for desserts guys! The drink wasn’t anything too adventurous, mint is my go-to when I don’t want to waste anymore time deciding.It’s not the best I have tasted and the thick texture was unpleasant as it filled me up before my main. The chilli and garlic sauce on the side were the perfect accompaniments to the dish.

Em

  • Beef Rump Steak seasoned rump steak, flame-grilled to your liking. Served with caramelised onions, picante gravy and chips – £15.95

The mint drink was goood (but I do love me mint drinks). As you can see in the picture it was a more solid-y, thick smoothie texture rather than a liquid-y texture which was different (and I think I prefer liquid) but it was still nice. As for my main, I loved it! It was cooked just right and was soft – not too chewy or hard. The flavours were lovely but I did have my chilli and mayonnaise on the side for that extra flavour, especially with the chips. I wished I had the option to get a salad or coleslaw as it was just the steak and chips, but I stole some off Haych anyway which was really good.

saharagrill1

 

After our main, we took a little break whilst deciding a dessert (this was what Haych had come for). We settled on:

Desserts

  • Coppa Stracciatella a vanilla icecream with chocolate swirls topped with caramelised hazelnuts and cocoa powder – £7.95
  • Tiramisu Monoporzione mascarpone cream with coffee soaked finger biscuits – £5.95
  • And 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream because why not – £3.00

Haych: I was in a strop because I had to watch someone dive for the tiramisu as I was still bloated. When I was finally ready (barely anything left), I piled on my spoon the tiramisu, ice cream and the cup thing… why did we think it was a good idea to order three soft things? It was cloying and sticking to the roof of my mouth. I would have loved to have some honeycomb or biscuit base to elevate these desserts.

Em: As the tiramisu came, I dug in straight away (big fan of tiramisu) and I can safely say it was yum! It was soft which I suppose was good and bad – it could have had more of a hard biscuit base. However it still had that lovely coffee flavour coming through and a nice cream too. I then dipped my spoon into the coppa s thing (I cannot type that out again – I couldn’t even say it to the waiter). It was a little hard and I had to wait for it to melt a little so I can dip my spoon in straight to the bottom and try every layer and when I did manage to, I really liked it. Though I don’t believe it totally lived up to the cost of £7.95.

saharagrilldesserts

 

Haych

Food – 8.5
Service – 7.9
Atmosphere – 8

 OVERALL – 8.1

Em

Food – 8.3
Service – 8
Atmosphere – 7.7

OVERALL – 8

Price: £53.70

Halal status: Y

 

Whitechapel

49-53 New Rd, London E1 1HH

http://www.saharagrill.co.uk

020 7247 7803

Leave a Reply

